District Information

View Rep. Schakowsky (IL-09) in a larger map

Please review the map to see Illinois' redrawn 9th Congressional District, effective Jan. 5, 2013. The new 9th District includes most of the areas in the previous district such as all of Evanston, Skokie, Lincolnwood, Golf, Park Ridge, and Wilmette; portions of Morton Grove, Des Plaines, and Glenview; and much of the north and far northwest side of the City of Chicago. The district now also includes all Winnetka, Kenilworth, and Northfield, and portions of Arlington Heights, Mount Prospect, Prospect Heights, and Northbrook.


Total population  722,268
Male  355,623
Female  366,645
20 to 34 years  150,233
35 to 54 years  194,415
55 to 74 years  163,231
White   72.3%
Asian   13.3%
Hispanic   11.3%
Black    8.5%
American Indian or Alaska Native     0.2%
Households by income  
Less than $24,999  59,629
$25,000 to $34,999  25,078
$35,000 to $49,999  31,396
$50,000 to $74,999  39,848
$75,000 to $99,999  35,754
$100,000 to $149,999  44,435
$150,000 to $199,999  20,186
$200,000 and more  32,517
Median household income (dollars)   $ 66,202

 Source: U.S. Census Bureau American Community Survey


Local and state representatives

John J. Cullerton 6th, State Senator

Heather Steans 7th, State Senator

Daniel Biss 9th, State Senator

Ira I. Silverstein 8th, State Senator

Tom Rooney 27th, State Senator

John D'Amico 15th, State Representative

Louis I. Lang 16th, State Representative

Laura Fine 17th, State Representative

Robyn Gabel 18th, State Representative

Sidney H. Mathias 53rd, State Representative

Elaine Nekritz 57th, State Representative

Steven Andersson 65th, State Representative


Local Municipalities

Arlington Heights - Mayor Thomas W. Hayes

Points of Interest:

Des Plaines - Mayor Matthew Bogusz

Points of Interest:

Evanston - Mayor Steven Hagerty

Points of Interest:

Golf - President Bob Carson

Glenview - President Jim Patterson 

Points of Interest:

Kenilworth - President Ann Potter

Points of Interest:

Lincolnwood - President Barry Bass

Points of Interest:

Morton Grove - Mayor Dan DiMaria

Points of Interest:

Mount Prospect - Mayor Arlene A. Juracek

Points of Interest:

Niles - Mayor Andrew Przybylo

Points of Interest:

Northbrook - President Sandy Frum

Points of Interest:

Northfield - Board President Joan Frazier

Points of Interest:

Park Ridge - Mayor Marty Maloney

Points of Interest:

Prospect Heights - Mayor Nicholas Helmer 

 Points of Interest:

Skokie - Mayor George Van Dusen

Points of Interest:

Wilmette - President Bob Bielinski 

Points of Interest:

Winnetka - President Chris Rintz

Points of Interest:

  • Office Locations

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington DC 2229 Rayburn House Office
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 333-4455
    Fax: (202) 333-5522
    Chicago Office
    5533 N. Broadway
    Chicago, IL 60640
    Phone: (773) 506-7100
    Fax: (773) 506-9202
    Evanston Office
    820 Davis Street, Suite 105
    Evanston, IL 60201
    Phone: (847) 328-3409
    Fax: (847) 328-3425
    Glenview Office 1852 Johns Drive
    Glenview, IL 60025
    Phone: 847-328-3409
    Fax: 847-328-3425

    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName Jan Schakowsky  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Chicago Office
    5533 N. Broadway
    Chicago, IL 60640
    district 9th District of Illinois  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2017  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2017  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2017  
    repStateABBR IL  
    repDistrict 9  
    repState Illinois  
    repDistrictText 9th  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills