DAVID N. CICILLINE 1ST DISTRICT, RHODE ISLAND

2233 RAYBURN BUILDING WASHINGTON, D.C. 20515 (202) 225-4911 (202) 225-3290 (FAX)

1070 MAIN STREET, SUITE 300 PAWTUCKET, RI 02860 (401) 729–5600 (401) 729–5608 (FAX)



Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

June 4, 2020

William Barr Attorney General United States Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20530

Attorney General Barr:

On Monday, we watched as police officers used flashbangs, tear gas, and rubber munitions against a peaceful protest across the street from the White House. Hundreds of law-abiding American citizens had gathered to protest the murder of George Floyd, an unarmed African American man who died last week in Minneapolis under the knee of a police officer.

We could not understand why such aggressive tactics were being used – a whole 30 minutes before the District of Columbia's curfew was set to go into effect – until we saw the President, yourself, and several senior White House officials walk through the site of the protest to film a cynical, political propaganda video that the White House later released through social media.

The use of these measures for such a contemptuous purpose would be reason for condemnation on its own. However, the Washington Post reported yesterday that you were responsible for this reprehensible display.

As you know, the First Amendment to the Constitution guarantees "the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances." This appears to have been violated given the fact that no order to disperse was issued, no violence had been reported, and it was still 30 minutes before curfew.

The Supreme Court has held that "expression on public issues 'has always rested on the highest rung of the hierarchy of First Amendment values'" (*NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co.*), and that "debate on public issues should be uninhibited, robust, and wide-open" (*New York Times Co. v. Sullivan*).

Given the issues at stake, and your evident role in suppressing the right of the American people to redress their grievances, it is clear that a special prosecutor must be appointed to investigate your actions and the actions of all executive branch officials involved in this action.

CHAIR, DEMOCRATIC POLICY AND COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE ON THE JUDICIARY

CHAIRMAN, SUBCOMMITTEE ON ANTITRUST, COMMERCIAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE LAW

SUBCOMMITTEE ON CRIME, TERRORISM AND HOMELAND SECURITY

COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS

SUBCOMMITTEE ON EUROPE, EURASIA, ENERGY, AND THE ENVIRONMENT

SUBCOMMITTEE ON MIDDLE EAST, NORTH AFRICA, AND INTERNATIONAL TERRORISM

SUBCOMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT AND INVESTIGATIONS We look forward to your prompt response.

Sincerely,

U. leli

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

A. Donald McEachin Adriano Espaillat Alan Lowenthal Albio Sires Alcee L. Hastings Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Alma S. Adams, Ph.D Andre' Carson **Ayanna Pressley** Barbara Lee **Bill Foster Bill Keating** Bill Pascrell, Jr. Brendan F. Boyle **Brian Higgins** Carolyn B. Maloney **Chellie Pingree** Danny K. Davis **David Price** Deb Haaland Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Denny Heck Dina Titus Donald M. Payne, Jr. Donald S. Beyer Jr. Donna Shalala Earl Blumenauer Eddie Bernice Johnson

Eleanor Holmes Norton Eliot L. Engel Frank Pallone, Jr. G. K. Butterfield Gerald E. Connolly Grace Meng Gwen Moore Hakeem Jeffries Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Jamie Raskin Jan Schakowsky Jared Huffman Jerry McNerney Jim Himes Joe Neguse John Garamendi John Yarmuth Joseph P. Kennedy, III Judy Chu Katherine Clark Kathy Castor Linda T. Sánchez Lizzie Fletcher Lois Frankel Lori Trahan Madeleine Dean Marcy Kaptur

Mark DeSaulnier Mark Pocan Mark Takano Mary Gay Scanlon Matt Cartwright Mike Thompson Nanette Diaz Barragán Nita M. Lowey Norma J. Torres Nydia M. Velázquez Peter A. DeFazio Peter Welch Pramila Jayapal Wm. Lacy Clay Rosa L. DeLauro Sheila Jackson-Lee Stephanie Murphy Steve Cohen Suzan K. DelBene Suzanne Bonamici Sylvia R. Garcia Ted Lieu Theodore E. Deutch Thomas R. Suozzi Tom Malinowski Veronica Escobar Zoe Lofgren