Pro-Choice Caucus Leaders Urge Senate to Abstain from a Vote on Supreme Court Nominee

September 25, 2020
Press Release

WASHINGTON — Today, Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky and nearly a dozen leaders of Congressional Pro-Choice Caucus sent a letter to Senate leaders urging them to abstain from a voting on any Supreme Court nominee to replace the late Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg until after the next president is sworn into office. 

“Justice Ginsburg’s passing creates a vacancy on the Supreme Court at a time when the health of our communities and our fundamental rights are under tremendous pressure,” the lawmakers wrote. “Just days before her death, Justice Ginsburg made a request, ‘My most fervent wish is that I will not be replaced until a new president is installed.’ As leaders of the Pro-Choice Caucus, we urge our colleagues in the Senate to honor Justice Ginsburg’s final wish and legacy.”

In the letter sent to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Judiciary Chairman Lindsey Graham (R-SC) and Judiciary Ranking Member Diane Feinstein (D-CA), the lawmakers noted the president’s stated desire to fill the Supreme Court with justices opposed to reproductive rights.

President Trump has vowed to nominate justices who are extremely hostile to reproductive health, rights, and justiceand he has already fulfilled that promise twice before,” the lawmakers wrote. “The confirmation of a third justice to the Supreme Court during the Trump Administration would further tip the balance of the court against our fundamental rights, including reproductive freedom, for generations.”

In addition to Schakowsky, Chair of the Pro-Choice Caucus Providers and Clinics Task Force, the letter was signed by Pro-Choice Caucus Co-Chairs Reps. Barbara Lee (CA-13) and Diana DeGette (CO-01), and Task Force Chairs Reps. Ayanna Pressley (D-MA), Jackie Speier (D-CA), Ted Deutch (D-FL), Katherine Clark (D-MA, Julia Brownley (D-CA), Judy Chu (D-CA), Norma Torres (D-NY), and Suzan DelBene (D-WA).

To read the full text of the letter, click here.