Schakowsky, 77 Dems condemn Sessions for attempting to shut the door on victims of domestic violence

July 12, 2018
Press Release

On July 11th, Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky, a Chief Deputy Whip, introduced H.Res 987, a resolution condemning Attorney General Jeff Sessions’ inhumane effort to deny asylum to victims of domestic violence.

Exactly one month ago, on June 11th 2018, Jeff Sessions moved to declare domestic violence and gang violence as invalid grounds for seeking asylum in the United States. His decision further seeks to deny the opportunity for asylum for victims of violence and condemn thousands of domestic violence victims to deportation back to dangerous situations where they are at significant risk of losing their lives. This decision is currently being challenged in court.

After introducing H.Res. 987, Rep. Schakowsky released the following statement:

“Domestic violence is a deadly global epidemic. According to the United Nations, of all women victims of homicide around the world, half were estimated to have been killed by intimate partners or family members. So what does Attorney General Sessions propose the United States of America do about it? Shut our doors, turn our backs, and send victims back to the life-threatening situations they are fleeing. Shame on him.

“I am proud to see so many of my Democratic colleagues join me on this resolution condemning AG Sessions’ inhumanity. I look forward to seeing many more join us as we move forward. I call on Republican members to join us as well. Maintaining America’s status as a haven for victims of domestic violence should not be a partisan issue. For anyone with a pulse and a conscience, it should be unthinkable to tell women asking for asylum to go back to the bloody and brutal circumstances that brought them to our shores.”

Rep. Schakowsky’s resolution condemns Attorney General Session’s decision; identifies it as the next cruel step in the Trump Administration’s intentional scheme to dismantle the United States asylum system; recognizes that this decision seeks to condemn thousands of domestic violence victims to deportation which puts them at risk of losing their lives; and states that members of the House remain actively committed to reconstituting, preserving, and defending asylum laws that allow victims of domestic violence to seek life-saving refuge and protection in the United States.

Other members cosponsoring the resolution: Donald S. Beyer Jr., Barbara Lee, Rosa DeLauro, Debbie Dingell, Lois Frankel, Luis V. Gutiérrez, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Frederica S. Wilson, Peter Welch, Eliot L. Engel, Gwen Moore, David Cicilline, Adam Smith, Earl Blumenauer, Grace Meng, Adriano Espaillat, Jerrold Nalder, Eleanor Holmes Norton, James P. McGovern, Alcee L. Hastings, Dan Kildee, Steve Cohen, Nydia M. Velázquez, André Carson, Ro Khanna, Seth Moulton, Jimmy Panetta, John Lewis, Doris Matsui, Carolyn B. Maloney, Brenda L. Lawrence, Mark Pocan, Scott Peters, Pramila Jayapal, Gene Green, Brendan F. Boyle, Mark Takano, Frank Pallone, Mike Quigley, Bill Foster, Yvette D. Clarke, Ben Ray Luján, Zoe Lofgren, Jamie Raskin, Grace F. Napolitano, Carol Shea-Porter, Katherine Clark, Adam Schiff, Peter DeFazio, Bobby L. Rush, Diana DeGette, Gregory W. Meeks, Nanette Diaz Barragán, Elizabeth H. Esty, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Marc Veasey, John Yarmuth, Darren Soto, Mark DeSaulnier, Robert C. “Bobby” Scott, Gerald E. Connolly, Lloyd Doggett, Brian Higgins, Judy Chu, Betty McCollum, A. Donald McEachin, Derek Kilmer, Rick Nolan, Norma Torres, Michael Capuano, Suzanne Bonamici, Raúl M. Grijalva, José E. Serrano, Marcy Kaptur, Ted Deutch, Robin Kelly, and Rick Larsen.